You Were My Dad

You were my Dad

What more is there to say?

The only one I’ve had

And now you’ve gone away

 

To a place where I can’t reach you

With so much left unsaid

Words, memories, images

Left swirling in my head

 

Before I even knew it

You were snatched from our side

Taken from us cruelly

The chasm yawning wide

 

I only hope you knew

How truly loved you are

How much we’re going to miss you

The never-healing scar

 

To think I’ll never see you again

Hurts more than you could know

At weddings, graduations, birthdays

Your absence will be a fresh blow

 

But I cherish every minute, dad

Of time spent by your side

Laughter, smiles and hugs

There is no greater pride

 

Than to call myself your daughter

Though it hurts so deeply now,

Now I have to live without you;

I wish you’d told me how.

 

You were my Dad

What more is there to say?

The only one I’ve had

And now you’ve gone away.

Leave a Reply

