The Men I Once Knew (a war poem)

Shells scream around me like deadly hailstones

As I fire blindly at enemy lines, dodging the stream of bullets

Stumbling across No Man’s Land, stepping over the broken bodies

Of men I once played cards with.

 

Here and there, again and again, men fall to the floor

Faces buried in the mud, the endless, stinking, smothering mud.

Some fall face up, eyes staring into eternity.

The men I once sat and laughed with.

 

Dodge to the side as a bullet whistles past me

My hands are shaking – I can barely hold my gun

As I think of all the lost, wasted souls, and the last thoughts

Of men I once got drunk with.

 

They’re all gone now, I’m here alone with this photo

There’s nothing left of them but memories, ever fading.

Buried en masse, unmarked graves in a place no-one knows

The men I once played cards with.

Leave a Reply

